Highlights


360° Science and Technology Film Festival

360° Science and Technology Film Festival is one of the key educational projects of Polytechnic Museum. Over the years, it established itself as a major event in the field of documentary films. The main objective of the Festival is to introduce the public to urgent and compelling documentary films about science, technology, and new ideas about the world and society. We aim to interest people in science and reach the broadest possible audience. We promote films and discussions, lectures, literature and art that inspire people to expand their knowledge and raise awareness.

Awards: the Great Award of the Jury, Jury Award, Audience Award and Media Jury Award.

The program of the Festival includes more than 20 documentaries.

Competition Program: films that will be premiered in Russia judged by the Jury that consists of experts in the field of cinema and science.

EUNIC — «Forgotten Future»: the program prepared in cooperation with the European Union National Institutes for Culture and dedicated to the future of our world.

People and technology: a few movies about how science and technology are changing our lives, thoughts concerning the nature of transformations our society is undergoing. Are we doing better, or are we losing something forever by going deeper in the digital world?

Children’s program: two films about the beauty and harmony of our world, which will leave unimpressed neither kids nor adults.

Special attention will be paid to the format of public talks.

Keynote speakers — public talks withs science and technology visionaries.

Discussion program covers socially relevant issues, specific aspects of science and technology, current problems discussed by Russian and international experts.

Q&A panels — short meetings with invited film directors to be held after the screenings.

By updating the concept we are hoping to reach a completely new level. We are invigorated by international festivals that unite different areas of knowledge. The Festival 360 ° has to become a territory of inspiration, where anyone can come into contact with new ideas about the world and the future, science and technologies. Not only through films but also through direct communication with people from the world of science and technology.

360° Science and Technology Film Festival is one of the key educational projects of Polytechnic Museum. Over the years, it established itself as a major event in the field of documentary films. The main objective of the Festival is to introduce the public to urgent and compelling documentary films about science, technology, and new ideas about the world and society. We aim to interest people in science and reach the broadest possible audience. We promote films and discussions, lectures, literature and art that inspire people to expand their knowledge and raise awareness.

Organizers: http://360.polymus.ru/en/about/organisers/

Film Screenings from the Program of  360° Science and Technology Film Festival:

October 26, 19:10 — Dishonesty

What if you installed a vending machine in a university that sold sweets but gave you the money back along with what you ordered? No one would call Customer Support to report the fault. But equally so, no one would take advantage and steal every last sweet from the vending machine: on average, people take three or four free chocolate bars and stop at that. Dan Ariely, a behavioural economics specialist has spent many years studying dishonesty in all its forms by setting up fun experiments like this and his conclusion is that everyone lies but usually just a little.
(Dis)Honesty — The Truth about Lies gives the full story about deception, with personal stories ranging from doping to adultery, from smear campaigns to insider trading, which help the viewer break down dishonesty into its component parts. Each subsequent lie comes a little easier. We find it easier to lie if we see others around us doing it too. We don’t consider white lies to be real lies. No one would move a golf ball to a better place by hand, but nudging it by foot — not a problem. When watching the participants in Ariely’s experiments and others in the movie, it’s tempting to say to yourself — I’d never act like that. But let’s not kid ourselves.

October 27, 18:10 — Lo and Behold

In his latest documentary film, Lo and Behold: Reveries of the Connected World, first shown at the Sundance Film Festival, Werner Herzog dives into the past, present and future of the virtual world. With German exactitude and romanticism, he recounts the history of the Internet, from its pioneers at the University of California to modern visionaries like Elon Musk. However, Herzog is not only interested in scientific and technical achievements or the flip side: apocalyptic forecasts linked with the development of the world wide web, but primarily, how and why the Internet has radically changed and continues to change our lives to such an extent that when Herzog visited Buddhist monks, he observed that as soon as they had finished meditating, they immediately jumped onto twitter. Herzog explores the digital landscape with the same passion and dedication he had when crossing the wild landscapes of the Amazon, the Sahara and Antarctica, and talks about the mutual influence of two worlds: online and real life, which, now we have the Internet, will never be the same again.

October 28, 18:50 — Steve Jobs

It’s 2016 and people all around the world dutifully sit down and open their MacBooks to watch the presentation of Apple’s latest products — they praise, criticize, and discuss them in such detail, it’s as if the entire world population were hooked on an addictive tv show. And in a way they are: Apple has become part of the mythology of the modern world. Everyone has an opinion about it, and its history has become modern legend with its own canonical versions, apocrypha and prophets. Steve Jobs passed away five years ago but books and movies about him continue to be released. It’s natural — each new interpretation adds something to the portrait of one of the main modern-day prophets.
Alex Gibney’s Steve Jobs: The Man in the Machine is another controversial chapter in this story. It is critical, which is, in fact, something that had been lacking. Gibney is a meticulous expounder of the myths of our century and doesn’t cut his subjects any slack. The Church of Scientology, big league sport, US foreign policy, WikiLeaks — he often grapples with topics that are impossible to neatly sum up and calls both the subjects themselves and the deeply-rooted, comfortable conventional attitudes towards them into question. The Man in the Machine centres around the stories of colleagues and associates about their personal relationship with Jobs, and attempts to paint a picture of the human side of the tech-icon with all his rough edges, shortcomings, debatable actions and decisions that the most famous man in a black turtleneck took throughout his career.

Also,

Lecture, October 28, 18:15-19:15, at the Amphitheatre
Can Search Engines Influence the Outcome of Elections?
Speaker: Robert Epstein

Recently, the media has widely discussed Robert Epstein’s study on the influence of search engines like Google on our decision-making process, actions, feelings, and in particular on the way we vote in elections — is it possible that this effect occurs without our knowledge? For the majority of computer and smart phone users, search engines are the main method of getting information. But how does a search engine decide which of the billions of web pages it will include in its “search results”, how does it rank them and what links make it onto the most-read top search results list? How are search algorithms written and can the top search results influence something more than consumer preference?

In his lecture, Robert Epstein will talk about the experiments conducted and two behavioural effects — preference shifting mechanisms that were identified as a result of research: The Search Engine Manipulation Effect (SEME) and the Search Suggestion Effect (SSE).

Does the Internet possess such subtle forms of influence? And if Google supports one of the candidates, will it decide the outcome of the election?

Robert Epstein, Senior Research Psychologist at the American Institute for Behavioral Research and Technology (California), author of 15 books, former Editor-in-Chief of Psychology Today.

Самое интересное


Международный фестиваль кино о науке и технологиях 360°

О кинофестивале

Международный фестиваль кино о науке и технологиях 360 °, один из ключевых образовательных проектов Политехнического музея, успел зарекомендовать себя как крупное событие в сфере кинодокументалистики.

Его задача — показать актуальное зрительское документальное кино, связанное с наукой, технологиями и новыми идеями о мире и обществе. Цель фестиваля — увлечь наукой самого широкого зрителя, стимулировать интерес к научно-популярным лекциям и литературе.

По итогам будут вручены: главный приз, приз жюри, приз зрительским симпатий, приз медиажюри.

В программе фестиваля — более 20 документальных картин.

Конкурсная программа: российские премьеры больших фестивальных фильмов, ее судит жюри фестиваля — эксперты в области кино и науки.

EUNIC — «Человек в XXI веке»: программа EUNIC, сделанная совместно с Объединением институтов культуры стран Европейского Союза EUNIC, представляет семь фильмов, посвященных вопросам гуманизма и изменению представления о человеке XXI веке — в эпоху, когда человек играет главенствующую роль в экосистеме Земли.

Люди и технологии: несколько фильмов о том, как достижения науки и техники меняют нашу жизнь, размышления на тему, к лучшему ли эти изменения, или мы что-то безвозвратно теряем, погружаясь в цифровой мир.

Детская программа: два фильма о красоте и гармонии нашего мира, которые не оставят равнодушными ни детей, ни взрослых.

Отдельное внимание будет уделено формату публичных выступлений.

Киноут-спикеры — выступления крупных визионеров от науки и технологий.

Дискуссионная программа — общественно значимые темы, конкретные аспекты науки и технологий, актуальные проблемы. К участию в дискуссионной программе привлекаются зарубежные и российские специалисты.

Программа Q&A — короткие встречи с приглашенными режиссерами после кинопоказов.

Обновление концепции — это попытка выйти на принципиально иной уровень. Ориентиром для 360° служат международные фестивали, сопрягающие разные области знания. Фестиваль 360° должен стать пространством вдохновения, где любой желающий сможет соприкоснуться с новыми идеями о мире, технологиях, науке и будущем, причем не только получая информацию из фильмов, но и имея непосредственную возможность диалога с представителями науки и технологий.

Международный фестиваль кино о науке и технологиях 360 °, один из ключевых образовательных проектов Политехнического музея, успел зарекомендовать себя как крупное событие в сфере кинодокументалистики.

Его задача — показать актуальное зрительское документальное кино, связанное с наукой, технологиями и новыми идеями о мире и обществе. Цель фестиваля — увлечь наукой самого широкого зрителя, стимулировать интерес к научно-популярным лекциям и литературе.

Организаторы: http://360.polymus.ru/ru/about/organisers/

Показы фильмов из программы VI Международного Фестиваля кино о науке и технологиях 360°:

26 октября в 19:10 — «(Бес)честность — вся правда о лжи»
Длительность: 90 мин.

Что, если поставить в университете вендинговую машину, которая продает сладости, но деньги возвращает обратно вместе с товаром? В службу поддержки с сообщением о неисправности не позвонит никто. Но и обворовывать автомат до последнего леденца никто не станет: в среднем люди берут бесплатно три или четыре шоколадки и на этом останавливаются. Дэн Ариели, специалист в поведенческой экономике, много лет изучает нечестность во всех ее проявлениях с помощью забавных экспериментов вроде этого, и его вывод — врут все, но обычно понемногу.
«(БЕС)Честность — вся правда о лжи» — это настоящая анатомия обмана, человеческие истории, от допинга до супружеской измены, от черного пиара до торговли инсайдерской информацией, которые помогают разобрать нечестность на составляющие. Каждая следующая ложь дается легче. Нам проще врать, если мы видим, что это делают и другие люди нашего круга. Мы не считаем ложь во благо ложью. Мячик для гольфа никто не переставит в более удобное место рукой, а подвинуть ногой — нет проблем. Глядя на участников экспериментов Ариели и других героев фильма очень хочется сказать себе — я бы никогда в жизни так не поступил. Но не надо себя обманывать.

27 октября в 18:10 — «О, Интернет! Грезы цифрового мира»
Длительность: 98 мин.

В своей новой документальной картине «О, Интернет! Грезы цифрового мира» (Lo and Behold: Reveries of the Connected World), впервые показанной на фестивале Санденс, Вернер Херцог погружается в прошлое, настоящее и будущее виртуального мира. С немецкой дотошностью и романтичностью он рассказывает историю интернета, от его пионеров из Калифорнийского университета до современных визионеров вроде Илона Маска. Однако Херцога интересует не только научно-технические достижения или, напротив, апокалиптические прогнозы, связанные с развитием мировой паутины, но прежде всего, как и почему интернет настолько кардинально изменил и продолжает менять нашу жизнь, что даже подсмотренные Херцогом буддистские монахи, едва прервав медитацию, тут же утыкаются в твиттер. Херцог исследует цифровой пейзаж с той же страстью и самоотверженностью, с которыми он раньше пересекал дикие ландшафты Амазонии, Сахары или Антарктиды, и рассказывает о взаимном влиянии двух миров: сетевого и реального, который теперь, после появления интернета, никогда уже не будет прежним.

28 октября в 18:50 — «Стив Джобс: человек в машине»
Длительность: 128 мин.

В 2016-м году люди по всему миру прилежно садятся и открывают свои макбуки, чтобы посмотреть презентацию новых продуктов компании Apple — хвалят, ругают и обсуждают их в таких подробностях, как будто всем земным шаром смотрят увлекательный сериал. Так и есть: Apple стала частью мифологии современного мира. О ней каждому есть что сказать, ее история превратилось в современное предание со своими каноническими версиями, апокрифами и пророками. Стива Джобса нет в живых уже пять лет, но книги и фильмы о нем продолжают выходить, и это закономерно — новые и новые трактовки достраивают портрет одного из главных современных пророков.

«Человек в машине» Алекса Гибни — еще одна противоречивая глава этой истории, критическая, как раз такая, какой не хватало. Гибни — придирчивый толкователь мифов нового века, не дает спуску своим героям, Саентологическая церковь, большой спорт, внешняя политика США, WikiLeaks — он часто берется за темы, на которые однозначно высказаться просто невозможно, и ставит под вопрос как самих героев, так и устоявшиеся, удобные обывательские позиции по отношению к ним. «Человек в машине» сосредотачивается на рассказах коллег и соратников о личных отношениях с Джобсом, предпринимая попытку сделать из техно-иконы живого человека, со всеми его шероховатостями, недостатками, неоднозначными поступками и решениями, которые самый знаменитый человек в черной водолазке принимал на протяжении всей своей карьеры.

А также,

Лекция — 28 октября, 18:15—19:15, площадка «Амфитеатр»
«Могут ли поисковые системы менять исход выборов?»
Лектор: Роберт Эпштейн

В последнее время в СМИ широко обсуждаются исследования Роберта Эпштейна о влиянии поисковых сетей вроде Google на наши решения, действия, чувства, в частности, на то, как мы голосуем на выборах, — возможно ли, что такое влияние происходит без нашего ведома? Поисковики стали для большинства пользователей компьютеров и смартфонов основным способом получения информации. Но каким образом поисковик решает, какие из миллиардов веб-страниц он включит в «результаты поиска», как их ранжирует и какие ссылки выводит на самые просматриваемые верхние строчки в списке? Как устроен поисковый алгоритм и могут ли верхние результаты в поисковой выдаче влиять на что-то большее, чем выбор потребителей?

В лекции Роберт Эпштейн расскажет о проведенных экспериментах и о двух поведенческих эффектах — механизмах сдвига предпочтений, которые были выявлены в результате исследований: манипуляционном эффекте поисковой системы (или SEME, Search Engine Manipulation Effect) и эффекте вариантов поиска (или SSE, Search Suggestion Effect).

Обладает ли интернет такими утонченными формами влияния? И если Google поддержит одного из кадидатов, то решит ли это исход выборов?

Роберт Эпштейн — ведущий научный психолог Американского института поведенческих исследований и технологий (Калифорния), автор 15 книг, в прошлом главный редактор журнала Psychology Today.