A Step Toward Immortality: Enhancing National Human Capital Through Innovative Technologies in Health Care

The advances, which the science and medicine made in the 20th century, have significantly improved human life. The discovery and use of antibiotics in the clinical practice, invention of vaccines, introduction of national immunization programs and an overall development of the public health care system have helped to significantly curb the spread of diseases and supress the mortality rates associated with the diseases that used to kill millions of people. Over the last 50 years, life expectancy has increased by 35% (18.7 years) globally.

Progress, however, has a downside. Today we are witnessing a rise in the share of elderly population (60+). It is expected that by 2050 their number will increase more than twofold and will approach 2 billion (approximately 21% of the Earth’s total population). This situation is further aggravated by a rapid spread of chronic non-infectious illnesses and illnesses related to the unhealthy lifestyle, which today affect much younger people of the working age. Combined, these factors further burden state budgets: economic growth is no longer sufficient to compensate for the growing health care needs.

This, in turn, creates a sturdy demand for efficient health care technologies capable of reducing the incidence of diseases and early disabilities, helping workers extend the years of their career and thus preserve and enhance the country’s human capital.

Documents

Шаг к бессмертию: роль технологий в здравоохранении для преумножения национального человеческого капитала

Развитие науки и медицины в 20 веке значительно изменило жизнь человека. Открытие и внедрение в клиническую практику антибиотиков, создание вакцин, и распространение национальных программ иммунизации, развитие общественного здравоохранения помогли значительно снизить распространенность и смертность от болезней, которые ранее убивали миллионы. Только за последние 50 лет продолжительность жизни во всем мире увеличилась на 35% (18,7 лет).

Но у прогресса есть и другая сторона. Сегодня растет количество людей пожилого возраста (60+), число которых к 2050 году вырастет более чем в два раза - до 2 млрд. человек (примерно 21% от общего населения Земли). Данный факт усугубляется катастрофическим распространением хронических неинфекционных заболеваний и заболеваний, связанных с неправильным образом жизни, которые стремительно молодеют и затрагивают все большие массы людей трудоспособного возраста. Все это становится причиной значительного повышения нагрузки на бюджеты государства: экономический рост больше не может компенсировать растущий спрос на здоровье.

Это, в свою очередь, создает высокий спрос на высокоэффективные технологии в здравоохранении, которые бы помогли снизить заболеваемость, раннюю инвалидизацию, продлить период трудоспособности и тем самым сохранить и преумножить национальный человеческий капитал

Материалы